top of page
Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

On Friday evening, November 17, 1911, three Howard University undergraduate students, with the assistance of their faculty adviser, gave birth to the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity. This event occurred in the office of biology Professor Ernest E. Just, the faculty adviser, in the Science Hall (now known as Thirkield Hall). The three liberal arts students were Edgar A. Love, Oscar J. Cooper and Frank Coleman. From the initials of the Greek phrase meaning "friendship is essential to the soul," the name Omega Psi Phi was derived. The phrase was selected as the motto. Manhood, scholarship, perseverance and uplift were adopted as cardinal principles. A decision was made regarding the design for the pin and emblem, and thus ended the first meeting of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity . 

The next meeting was conducted on November 23, 1911. Edgar Love became the first Grand Basileus (National President). Cooper and Coleman were selected Grandkeeper of the Records (National Secretary) and Grandkeeper of Seals (National Treasurer), respectively. Eleven Howard University undergraduate men were selected as charter members. 


Alpha Chapter was organized with fourteen charter members on December 15, 1911. Love, Cooper and Coleman were elected the chapter's first Basileus, Keeper of Records, and Keeper of Seals, respectively. On March 8, 1912, the previously submitted fraternity constitution was rejected by the Howard University Faculty Council. The Faculty Council proposed to accept the fraternity as a local but not a national organization. The fraternity refused acceptance as a strictly local organization. 

Mu Iota Chapter

Chartered June 1, 1945, Mu Iota Chapter was formed for graduate brothers to strengthen and preserve the Omega tradition and ideals that the undergraduate chapter at the Ohio State University, Iota Psi Chapter, had already established since its founding in 1926. Four Brothers from Beta chapter at Lincoln University in Pennsylvania took it upon themselves to establish a forum for Omega Men in the Columbus area to fellowship. 


Once Brothers John White, Allen Wright, George Carter and Brother Peters founded Mu Iota, at least 30 men in the Columbus area joined them in their quest to uplift Omega. By 1948, the chapter had been so successful that the National Conclave was held in Columbus that same year. Mu Iota Chapter has since enjoyed the privilege of being an influential factor throughout the Columbus Community. Throughout the years, Brothers of Mu Iota has had a noticeable presence in the public school system, local politics, within the religious and civic associations in the community. 


Local Programs:

  • Adopt-A-Road Program

  • Food Pantry Program

  • Project Manhood

  • Talent Hunt Program

Chapter Information:

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.- Mu Iota Graduate Chapter

PO Box 16203

Columbus, Ohio 43216




Eta Nu Nu Chapter

The Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., Eta Nu Nu Chapter was formally chartered on November 19,
2020. In just two short years, the chapter has twice been recognized by the Omega Psi Phi
Fraternity's Fourth District which covers the states of Ohio and West Virginia as Social Action
Chapter of the Year. In April 2021, Eta Nu Nu won honors as the 4th District Small Chapter of
the Year. In June 2022, Eta Nu Nu was the only Fraternity in Columbus, Ohio to receive the
National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) of Columbus Outstanding Leadership Award,
demonstrating our commitment to service. We have awarded and committed more than
$90,000 in scholarship monies to deserving high school graduates and students in the
performance arts. Additionally, Eta Nu Nu Chapter has donated over $45,000 to worthy
community organizations that endeavor to implement new programs and activities in
Columbus, Ohio.
Eta Nu Nu Chapter inculcates our Fraternity’s four cardinal principles of Manhood, Scholarship,
Perseverance, and Uplift by raising up communities of color, one person at a time, through
execution of our internationally mandated programs.
Eta Nu Nu Chapter is serious about the many projects we are involved with that are designed to
enhance the life chances of people of color. We have our own brand, our own way of doing
things, which is grounded in service. We are not idle but aggressive in building our foundation
on service.
Local Programs and Partnerships:
The Columbus Urban League (CUL). This partnership is important by virtue of the Urban
League’s historic civil rights and urban advocacy. This partnering meshes well with some of our
Fatherhood and Mentoring, Social Action, and Health Initiatives programs, as well as expands
our operational reach.
Community in Schools (CIS). This partnership allows us to target schools in low income,
disenfranchised, and under resourced communities. We have maximized this partnership to
facilitate implementation of both our Omega STEM at Johnson Park Middle School and our
“Fatherhood to Fatherhood” and Mentoring programs at Mifflin High School. Implementation
and expansion of these programs will yield greater benefits to the communities we target.
I Know I Can (IKIC). This partnership provides $5,000 matching funds each year for up to 4 years
for students matriculating at an HBCU. Our commitment to an organization that is one of the
largest providers of scholarships in the State of Ohio enhances our reputation as an
organization committed to empowering others through education.
Urban Strings Columbus Youth Orchestra. This partnership adds a rather dynamic component
to Eta Nu Nu’s goals and objectives, as it positions us to encourage and support our talented
youths in the performance arts. Our merit scholarships provide young aspiring and talented
youth with resources to improve their musicianship in this unique organization. We use our
resources, both material and human, to showcase and support Urban String Columbus. Our

Talent Hunt program and relationship with Capital University enables us to expand our reach by
providing a venue for this program and exposing students of color to its campus.
We Are Linden. This grassroots organization received sponsorship support from Eta Nu Nu
Chapter throughout the 2023 calendar year. This support demonstrates our commitment to
uplifting the Linden community.
AIDS Healthcare Foundation (AHF). This national partnering complements our health initiatives
program while providing funding to both Eta Nu Nu Chapter and our undergraduates. As a
result, AHF has specifically requested that Eta Nu continue to be part of this national
partnership, something that elicits a great deal of pride.
Good Health Wins (GHWs). This national partnership vaccination awareness program in
collaboration with the National Council of Negro Women and the Center for Disease Control
Mini Grant Program further enhances our health initiatives program. Eta Nu Nu is one of 37
Chapters selected from the entire fraternity, Inc., for this initiative.
2023 will bring about new partnerships focused on community uplift, health initiatives, and
new programming activities for which we will seek the collaborative participation of other
NPHC organizations.

Chapter Information:
Eta Nu Nu Chapter - Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.
P.O. Box 298032,
Columbus, OH 43229-8032

bottom of page